If you were arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol, it’s important to get in touch with an attorney immediately. It’s not mandatory that you have an attorney represent you, but it is highly recommended that you hire a Long Beach DUI lawyer.
If you were charged with a very first D.U.I., you may are looking at a jail term end of six months. You could face s much of $1,000 or even more in fines, and could lose your driver’s license. You may have to complete a DUI program.
The penalties become even more serious if this is your second D.U.I. If you have been charged with a second DUI within 10 years, you may be looking at a jail term of close to one year, and may have to pay more than $5,000 in fines. You could even have your driver’s license suspended for a period of two years, and may also have to complete an alcohol program that lasts for up to of 30 months. Some states like Tennessee have different laws, so it is advised to speak with a DUI lawyer in Tennessee as soon as possible.
If you have been arrested for a third D.U.I. in the last 10 years, the jail time one increases to between four months and one year, and the fines increase to up to $5,000 a month. In this case however, you may have your license suspended for three years.
Your ability to get a restricted license which you can use to go to work while your license is suspended, may also depend on the type of offense that you were charged with.
If you have been charged with DUI, get in touch with a Long Beach DUI defense lawyer immediately. Say nothing to officers at the scene, and do not try to resist if officers ask you to take an alcohol test. Call a Long Beach criminal defense lawyer immediately.